Column Views allow you to add different fields and configure their display and aggregation settings which determine how data is presented in the Gantt type module's task list.

Each Box type has a predefined list of Column Views which you can edit or create new ones.

Configuration 

  • To configure Column Views go to Box configuration > Gantt type module (Gantt is the default module name used) > Column Views. 
  • To configure the  default views and the inheritance mode go to App's administration > Box types > select a Box type > Gantt > Gantt is the default module name used) > Column Views. 
  • Only a user with a minimum Box admin security role can access and manage the Box configuration.
  • Only a user with a minimum App admin security role can access and manage the Administration.

The Card View configuration page will not be visible if the Gantt module is not active or the Inheritance mode is set to 'inherited only'.

Active Column View

If you apply one of the available views from the Column View drop-down, it becomes "Active" and a green check mark will show up next to its name in the Box configuration. This means that whenever a user opens the module or returns to it, that view will be applied.

Inheritance mode 

The Column Views can be inherited by the sub-level Boxes when the Inheritance mode is set to "Inherited only" or "Own with inherited" in the Box type configuration of the upper-level Box. This way, every time you create new views or edit the existing ones, all available views will be updated in the sub-level Boxes as well.

To learn more about the inheritance mode go to Column Views.

Default Column Views

When the "Inheritance mode' is set to "Own" or "Own with inherited" App Admins can create the default Column Views which will be used every time a new Box of a given type is created.

To learn more about the inheritance mode go to Column Views.

Changing the view

The Column View drop-down shows the list of available views. To switch between the views click on one of the names. The currently used view will be displayed on the Column View button:

Editing and creating view


You can edit Column Views:

  • in Box Configuration > Gantt > Column Views.
  • directly within the Gantt module

Both Box Viewers and Box Editors can dynamically modify an active column view, but don't have permission to save those changes.

Box Admins can additionally save changes made to the active view.


We recommend using the 'Built-in" type of fields which display field values from all synchronized fields in Jira and connected tools. For example, the "Start date" built-in field shows the date values from all fields mapped as the start date in the Task configuration and from connected tools, such as Trello.

To add or remove a column click the 'cog' icon on the far right of the task list header. Use the search box to find the fields you want to add and click the 'bin' icon to remove fields from the list:

Once the view is modified, a red asterisk will appear next to the view name and the Box admin will be able to save changes of the active view or save it as a new one:

Column configuration

Data various fields can be aggregated at the parent task level or for most of the fields you can change the way it is presented. For example, the status field has different aggregation options and one of the most useful is the "Children status categories" which shows the task distribution in status categories:

Another example, using the Time tracking progress you can display the task progress in a variety of ways like 'Progress with %':

Favourite views

You can mark you favorite views using the star and your views will be displayed in a separate section of the drop-down:

Deleting Column Views

To delete Column Views you must access Box Configuration > Gantt > Column Views.

You can't delete the Column View that is in use.

At least one View has to exist at all times.

Affects

Switching between column views may clear the grouping. Grouping is based on visible columns - if the new column view doesn't contain columns that were used for grouping, grouping is cleared. If possible, grouping is maintained.