This section changes the task synchronization settings and enables additional features such as comments and notifications, which facilitate communication within teams.
Settings defined here apply to all tasks which were added to the scope of a Box. If you need to define different field mapping for selected Projects, you can customize your synchronization settings by creating separate configuration schemes.
Modify the mapping of this section to synchronize task attributes with appropriate external tool fields. When enabled, task synchronization is bi-directional and instant. For example, if you move a task using the Gantt module, your task's "Start Date" and "End Date" fields will be updated. Conversely, if you edit the "Start Date" or "End Date" fields via the Jira card of a task, the task changes will be updated and visible in the Gantt module.
Security and access
- Only Jira administrators can access this page.
- To configure the task synchronization, go to BigPicture configuration > General > Tasks
You can not use the same field more than once. For example: If a "Due Date" field is mapped as "End Date" of your task, you will not be able to select this field for any other mapping within a configuration of the same Jira Project. This applies to the following filed mappings:
- Start Date
- End Date
- Baseline Start Date
- Baseline End Date
Every connection has separate settings used for mapping. That includes each Jira instance, Trello workspace, etc.
Each instance connection can be expanded.
Upon expanding, you can see field mapping settings of the particular instance:
Migrating existing values
Note that the existing field values will only be updated when the "Migrate existing values to newly selected fields" toggle is ON. If possible, corresponding values will be moved to the new fields. When the toggle is OFF, you will be notified about it and informed that the field values will not be moved to the new ones and won't be overwritten.
Field mapping possibilities depend on the product (Jira vs. Trello).
Custom synchronization settings per the Jira project
Customize your synchronization settings by creating a separate configuration scheme for a Jira project. When you do that, general settings will no longer apply to this project.
Note: Custom synchronization is created per a Jira project - not per Box. This means, that in the same Box you can have tasks from different projects with different mapping.
The list of projects with custom synchronization is displayed in the right column once the new synchronization is saved:
By default, when you map a new Trello instance connection, its Start Date and End Date fields will be set to 'Not Synchronized.'
This means that when you change the dates of your Trello tasks in BigPicture, the changes will not be transferred to Trello (and vice versa).
The mappings need to be set manually when connecting with Trello.
You can leave the' Not Synchronized' status if you don't want to set dates from the BigPicture level.