This section changes the task field synchronization settings and enables additional features such as comments and notifications, which facilitate communication within teams.
Modify the mapping of this section to synchronize task attributes with appropriate external tool fields. When enabled, task synchronization is bi-directional and instant. For example, if you move a task using the Gantt module, your task's "Start Date" and "End Date" fields will be updated. Conversely, if you edit the "Start Date" or "End Date" fields via the Jira card of a task, the task changes will be updated and visible in the Gantt module.
General mapping affects all tasks unless you add custom mapping for specific projects.
Security and access
- Only Jira administrators can access this page.
- To configure the fields synchronization, go to App Configuration > General > Fields.
You cannot use the same field more than once. For example: If the "Due Date" field is mapped as the "End Date" of your task, you will not be able to select this field for any other mapping within a configuration of the same Jira Project. This applies to the following filed mappings:
- Start Date
- End Date
- Baseline Start Date
- Baseline End Date
Every connection has separate settings used for mapping. That includes each Jira instance, Trello workspace, etc.
Each instance connection can be expanded. Upon expanding, you can see the field mapping settings of the particular instance.
Overwrite Jira task data with data from the App
If the "Overwrite Jira task data with data from the App" toggle is ON, Jira task data will be overwritten with data from the App. You cannot undo this action.
Field mapping possibilities depend on the product (Jira vs. Trello).
Custom mapping (per Jira project)
Customize your synchronization settings by creating a separate configuration scheme for a Jira project. When you do that, general settings will no longer apply to this project.
Custom synchronization is created per Jira project - not per box. This means, that in the same box, you can have tasks from different projects with different mapping.
To add custom mapping for a selected project:
- Switch to the "Custom mapping" tab.
- Click "Add Project".
- Select a project from the drop-down menu.
- Click "Add and configure".
- Customize synchronization settings for a project.
- Click "Save" to confirm.
- The list of projects with custom synchronization is displayed once the new synchronization is saved.
By default, when you map a new Trello instance connection, its Start Date and End Date fields will be set to 'Not Synchronized.'
This means that when you change the dates of your Trello tasks in BigPicture, the changes will not be transferred to Trello (and vice versa).
The mappings need to be set manually when connecting with Trello.
You can leave the 'Not Synchronized' status if you don't want to set dates from the BigPicture level.